<table id="4w6wy"></table>
  • <table id="4w6wy"></table>
  • Travel Nursing Licenses: A handy state-by-state reference

    State Nursing Licenses are kind of a big deal when you're looking to hit the road on your next adventure. We've assembled the reference below to provide a lot of the info that you'll want to know. Of course, if you need help getting a license, remember that Atlas is here to help and offers license reimbursement when you travel with us!

    Alabama

    Is Alabama a walk-through state? No

    How long does it take to get a temporary license? If the regulatory questions are answered "yes" and submit required documentation, then 48 hours. Otherwise, could take longer.

    How long is a temp license good for? 90 days - only issued once and not renewable. A temporary permit is not available for reinstatement applicants

    How much does a temp license cost? $50

    How long does it take to get a permanent license? No set timeline. Licenses are issued when all requirements are completed, on a first in, first out basis. If all required documentation has been submitted, it could be as short as 48 hours.

    How much does a perm license cost? Application fee of $100, transaction fee $3.50, and temporary permit cost of $50.

    Application Process: Online

    Is Alabama a NURSYS state? No

    Is Alabama a compact state? No

    Renewal Cycle: Every two years

    Renewal Fee: $100 renewal fee and $3.50 online fee

    Lapsed License: If you previously held an Alabama nursing license and your license is now lapsed, you must apply for and have the license reinstated before returning to work as a nurse in this state

    Reinstatement Fee for lapsed license: $250 with a $3.50 transaction fee

    *The information above was provided by the Alabama Board of Nursing in March 2019; information is subject to change

    ABN Contact Info:
    Phone: 1-800-656-531
    Fax: 1-334-293-5201
    E-Mail: abn@abn.alabama.gov
    Web: www.abn.alabama.gov

    Alaska

    Is Alaska a walk-through state? No

    How long does it take to get a temporary license? 10 Business days upon receipt of all necessary documents

    How long is a temp license good for? 6 Months, It is attached to the permanent license, cannot be applied for separately. Most people do not need it, does not expedite. The ones who should consider it are those who have an original or current state that is not on NURSYS and needs to be verified for the application.

    How much does a temp license cost? $100

    How long does it take to get a permanent license? 10 Business days upon receipt of all necessary documents

    How much does a perm license cost? $375

    Application Process: Paper application, mailed with fingerprints

    Is Alaska a NURSYS state? Yes

    Is Alaska a compact state? No

    Renewal Cycle: 2 years, Nov 30 of even numbered years

    Renewal Fee: $200

    Lapsed License: Paper application for reinstatement

    Reinstatement Fee for lapsed license: $375 ($100 penalty fee if lapsed 60 days or more, $200 license fee, and $75.00 fingerprint fee if lapsed for 1 year or more)

    *The information above was provided by the Board of Nursing in March 2019; information is subject to change

    Board of Nursing Contact Info:
    Board of Nursing Office Location
    Robert B. Atwood Building
    550 W. 7th Avenue, Suite 1500
    Anchorage, AK 99501-3567

    Office Assistant
    Shirley DeBose
    shirley.debose@alaska.gov
    Phone: (907) 269-8161
    Fax: (907) 269-8156

    RN, LPN, Advanced Practice Licensing Examiner ( Last Names A - F )
    Madeleine Henderson
    madeleine.henderson@alaska.gov
    Phone: (907) 269-8401
    Fax: (907) 269-8156

    RN, LPN and Advanced Practice Licensing Examiner ( Last Names G - L )
    Christopher Napoleon
    chris.napoleon@alaska.gov
    Phone: (907) 334-2611
    Fax: (907) 269-8156

    RN, LPN, Advanced Practice Licensing Examiner ( Last Names M - R )
    Peter Hall
    peter.hall@alaska.gov
    Phone: (907) 269-8402
    Fax: (907) 269-8156

    RN, LPN and Advanced Practice Licensing Examiner ( Last Names S - Z )
    Danielle Curry
    danielle.curry@alaska.gov
    Phone: (907) 269-8184
    Fax: (907) 269-8156

    Arizona

    Is Arizona a walk-through state? Yes, 48 hours for emergencies only

    How long does it take to get a temporary license? 30 days

    How long is a temp license good for? 6 months

    How much does a temp license cost? $50

    How long does it take to get a permanent license? 30-60 days

    How much does a perm license cost? $200 ($150 app fee and $50 fingerprint fee)

    Application Process: Online

    Is Arizona a NURSYS state? Yes

    Is Arizona a compact state? Yes

    Renewal Cycle: 4 years

    Renewal Fee: $160 and $3.00 convenience fee for online renewal

    Lapsed License: more than 30 days after license expiration, renewal application and Late/Invalid License Questionnaire

    Reinstatement Fee for lapsed license: $50 fee per month up to a total late fee of $200

    *The information above was provided by the Board of Nursing in March 2019; information is subject to change

    Board of Nursing Contact Info:
    Arizona State Board of Nursing
    1740 W Adams Street, Suite 2000
    Phoenix, AZ 85007
    602-771-7800
    https://www.azbn.gov/

    Arkansas

    Is Arkansas a walk-through state? No

    How long does it take to get a temporary license? 3-5 Days upon receipt of required documentation

    How long is a temp license good for? 6 Months

    How much does a temp license cost? $30

    How long does it take to get a permanent license? 3-5 Days upon receipt of required documentation

    How much does a perm license cost? $125

    Application Process: Online

    Is Arkansas a NURSYS state? Yes

    Is Arkansas a compact state? Yes, in the event a traveler moves out of Arkansas the compact licensure will remain active for 90 days following the notification of new residency submitted to Arkansas BON

    Renewal Cycle: staggered biennial birthdate system

    Renewal Fee: $100

    Lapsed License: considered expired if not renewed by midnight on the expiration date, a license which has been expired for less than 5 years may still be renewed online

    Reinstatement Fee for lapsed license: Additional $100

    *The information above was provided by the Board of Nursing in March 2019; information is subject to change

    Board of Nursing Contact Info:
    Arkansas State Board of Nursing
    University Tower Bldg.
    1123 South University
    Suite 800
    Little Rock, AR 72204-1619

    Phone: 501-686-2700
    Fax: 501-686-2714
    https://www.arsbn.org/

    California

    Is California a walk-through state? No

    How long does it take to get a temporary license? 8-10 Weeks

    How long is a temp license good for? No longer than 6 months

    How much does a temp license cost? $100

    How long does it take to get a permanent license? 10-12 Weeks; up to 6 months

    How much does a perm license cost? $300-$750 depending on what state Degree was received

    Application Process: Online or Mail

    Is California a NURSYS state? Yes

    Is California a compact state? No

    Renewal Cycle: Every 2 years based on birthday month, Online updates within 72 Hours

    Renewal Fee: $190.00

    Reinstatement Fee for lapsed license: $280 if Less than 8 years past due, $350 + $49.99 Fingerprint card for more than 8 years past due

    *The information above was provided by the Board of Nursing in March 2019; information is subject to change

    Board of Nursing Contact Info:
    Physical Address
    Board of Registered Nursing
    1747 N. Market Blvd., Suite 150
    Sacramento, CA 95834-1924

    Phone: 916-322-3350

    Mailing Address
    Board of Registered Nursing
    PO Box 944210
    Sacramento, CA 94244-2100
    https://www.rn.ca.gov/

    Colorado

    Is Colorado a walk-through state? No

    How long does it take to get a temporary license? 4-5 weeks, typically not used as perm has a short turnaround time

    How much does a temp license cost? Included in Cost of perm license

    How long does it take to get a permanent license? 30 Days

    How much does a perm license cost? $164 including background and fingerprint fees

    Application Process: Online

    Is Colorado a NURSYS state? Yes

    Is Colorado a compact state? Yes

    Renewal Cycle: September 30 of odd or even numbered years dependent upon issue date

    Renewal Fee: Not the same every year $106

    Lapsed License: Inactive for 2+ years

    Reinstatement Fee for lapsed license: $154, mailed application

    *The information above was provided by the Board of Nursing in March 2019; information is subject to change

    Board of Nursing Contact Info:
    1560 Broadway, Suite 1350
    Denver, CO 80202
    Ph. 303-894-7800
    https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/Nursing

    Connecticut

    Is Connecticut a walk-through state? No

    How long does it take to get a temporary license? 15 Business days, applicants must hold a current, valid registered nurse license in another US State or territory

    How long is a temp license good for? 120 Days

    How much does a temp license cost? Included in cost of perm license

    How long does it take to get a permanent license? 2-3 Weeks

    How much does a perm license cost? $180.00

    Application Process: Online

    Is Connecticut a NURSYS state? Yes

    Is Connecticut a compact state? No

    Renewal Cycle: Annual

    Renewal Fee: $110, Online

    Reinstatement Fee for lapsed license: $180, mail

    *The information above was provided by the Board of Nursing in March 2019; information is subject to change

    Board of Nursing Contact Info:
    Connecticut Department of Public Health
    RN Licensure
    410 Capitol Ave., MS #12 APP
    P.O. Box 340308
    Hartford, CT 06134
    Phone: (860) 509-7603
    Fax: (860) 707-1981
    Email: dph.nursingteam@ct.gov
    https://portal.ct.gov/DPH/Practitioner-Licensing--Investigations/Registered-Nurse/Registered-Nurse-Licensure

    Delaware

    Is Delaware a walk-through state? No

    How long does it take to get a temporary license? 7 business days after the Board of Nursing receives all necessary paperwork

    How long is a temp license good for? 90 Days, can be extended for up to 6 months

    How much does a temp license cost? $40

    How long does it take to get a permanent license? 4-6 weeks

    How much does a perm license cost? $156 + $65 to cover State of DE and Federal Bureau of Investigation criminal checks

    Application Process: Mail paper application

    Is Delaware a NURSYS state? Yes

    Is Delaware a compact state? Yes

    Renewal Cycle: Expiration is based on when license was originally issued, Odd Years

    Renewal Fee: Varies, notified of fee at time of online renewal

    Reinstatement Fee for lapsed license: 50% of renewal fee, roughly $234, paper application

    *The information above was provided by the Board of Nursing in March 2019; information is subject to change

    Board of Nursing Contact Info:
    Mailing address:
    Cannon Building,
    Suite 203
    861 Silver Lake Blvd.
    Dover, DE 19904
    Ph. 902-744-4500
    https://dpr.delaware.gov/boards/nursing/

    District of Columbia

    Is Washington D.C. a walk-through state? No

    How long does it take to get a temporary license? 1-5 days

    How long is a temp license good for? 90 days

    How much does a temp license cost? Temp license must be requested at the time of registration of Permanent licensure fees included.

    How long does it take to get a permanent license? 4-5 weeks

    How much does a perm license cost? $230

    Application Process: Print application from website. Application must be mailed in to PO BOX or physically delivered to the BON.

    Is Washington D.C. a NURSYS state? Yes

    Is Washington D.C. a compact state? No

    Renewal Cycle: RN License renewals are due to be renewed by 6/30 on Even Numbered years. Renewal can be done online.

    Renewal Fee: $145

    Lapsed License: $230 fee to be paid along with written letter of explanation for lapsed license and completed Reinstatement application.

    *The information above was provided by the Board of Nursing in April 2019; information is subject to change

    Board of Nursing Contact Info:
    Physical Address:
    899 North Capitol St. NE.
    Washington, DC. 20002

    Mailing Address:
    DC Board of Nursing renewal
    P.O. Box 37802
    Washington, DC. 20013
    1-877-672-2174
    https://dchealth.dc.gov

    Florida

    Is Florida a walk-through state? No

    How long does it take to get a permanent license? 7-30 Business days upon receipt of all required documents

    How much does a perm license cost? $110 Application Fee

    Application Process: Online

    Is Florida a NURSYS state? Yes

    Is Florida a compact state? Yes

    Renewal Cycle: Biennial

    Renewal Fee: $75

    Reinstatement Fee for lapsed license: $130, if renewing 120 days after expiration $210

    *The information above was provided by the Board of Nursing in March 2019; information is subject to change

    Board of Nursing Contact Info:
    Board Of Nursing
    4052 Bald Cypress Way Bin C-02
    Tallahassee, FL 32399
    Board Office phone: 850-245-4125
    Customer Contact Center phone: 850-488-0595

    Georgia

    Is Georgia a walk-through state? No

    How long does it take to get a temporary license? No Temporary license is issued in GA.

    How long is a temp license good for? NA

    How much does a temp license cost? NA

    How long does it take to get a permanent license? 2-3 weeks

    How much does a perm license cost? $40 application fee and Background Check

    Application Process: Online or Mail paper application

    Is Georgia a NURSYS state? Yes

    Is Georgia a compact state? Yes

    Renewal Cycle: Licenses expire on Jan 31 of even or odd numbered years.

    Renewal Fee: $65

    Lapsed License: License is revoked, and Application process must be restarted.

    *The information above was provided by the Board of Nursing in March 2019; information is subject to change

    Board of Nursing Contact Info:
    237 Coliseum Dr.
    Macon, Ga 31217
    478-207-2440
    http://sos.ga.gov

    Hawaii

    Is Hawaii a walk-through state? No

    How long does it take to get a temporary license? 1 to 2 days

    How long is a temp license good for? 3 months

    How much does a temp license cost? $50

    How long does it take to get a permanent license? 2 to 3 weeks

    How much does a perm license cost? $234

    Application Process: Online or Mail paper application

    Is Hawaii a NURSYS state? Yes

    Is Hawaii a compact state? No

    Renewal Cycle: License is subject to renewal by June 30, Odd numbered Years, Regardless of issue date.

    Renewal Fee: $40

    Lapsed License: Same process as renewal

    Reinstatement Fee for lapsed license: 40

    *The information above was provided by the Board of Nursing in March 2019; information is subject to change

    Board of Nursing Contact Info:
    335 Merchant St. #301
    Honolulu, HI 69813
    808-586-269
    http://cca.hawaii.gov

    Idaho

    Is Idaho a walk-through state? No

    How long does it take to get a temporary license? 1-2 weeks

    How long is a temp license good for? 90 days

    How much does a temp license cost? $25

    How long does it take to get a permanent license? 1 month

    How much does a perm license cost? $152

    Application Process: Online or Mail paper application

    Is Idaho a NURSYS state? Yes

    Is Idaho a compact state? Yes

    Renewal Cycle: Licenses are renewed every other odd numbered year. Licenses expire on August 31 of the applicable year.

    Renewal Fee: $90

    Reinstatement Fee for lapsed license: $125 if the license has not lapsed for more than 1 year. After 1 lapsed year the application process must re-start.

    *The information above was provided by the Board of Nursing in March 2019; information is subject to change

    Board of Nursing Contact Info:
    280 N 8th st. #210
    Boise, ID 83702
    08-577-2476
    https://ibn.idaho.gov/

    Illinois

    Is Illinois a walk-through state? No

    How long does it take to get a temporary license? 1-2 weeks

    How long is a temp license good for? 6mo. Or until issue of permanent license

    How much does a temp license cost? $75

    How long does it take to get a permanent license? 3-4 weeks

    How much does a perm license cost? License is $98, to receive your IL nursing license you must pass the NCLEX exam $200.

    Application Process: Online or Mail paper application

    Is Illinois a NURSYS state? Yes

    Is Illinois a compact state? No

    Renewal Cycle: IL licensure is good for 2 years, in this time period RN must have 120 required hours of continuing education for renewal.

    Renewal Fee: $80

    Reinstatement Fee for lapsed license: $80 Renewal fee + $ based on time tiers and individual circumstances.

    *The information above was provided by the Board of Nursing in March 2019; information is subject to change

    Board of Nursing Contact Info:
    100 West Randolph Street
    Suite 9-300
    Chicago, IL 60601
    1-800-560-6420
    https://www.idfpr.com

    Indiana

    Is Indiana a walk-through state? No

    How long does it take to get a temporary license? No time period but can be issued in as little as 2 weeks.

    How long is a temp license good for? 90

    How much does a temp license cost? 10

    How long does it take to get a permanent license? 3-4 weeks

    How much does a perm license cost? $50

    Application Process: Online or Mail paper application

    Is Indiana a NURSYS state? Yes

    Is Indiana a compact state? No

    Renewal Cycle: Licenses expire on October 31 of off-numbered years, Regardless of the issuance date.

    Renewal Fee: $50

    Reinstatement Fee for lapsed license: $50 renewal fee + $50 late fee

    *The information above was provided by the Board of Nursing in March 2019; information is subject to change

    Board of Nursing Contact Info:
    402 West Washington St.
    Suite W072
    Indianapolis, IN 46204
    317-234-2043
    https://www.in.gov

    Iowa

    Is Iowa a walk-through state? No

    How long does it take to get a temporary license? 1-2 weeks

    How long is a temp license good for? 30 days or until Perm license is active.

    How much does a temp license cost? No additional cost.

    How long does it take to get a permanent license? Licenses are processed as quick as possible. Expect 4 weeks or more.

    How much does a perm license cost? $193

    Application Process: Online or Mail Paper application

    Is Iowa a NURSYS state? Yes

    Is Iowa a compact state? Yes

    Renewal Cycle: Every 3 years, due 30 days prior to the 15th of the licensee's birth month. Renewal of a license between the 16th of the licensee birth month and the 15 of the following month requires additional late fee $50.

    Renewal Fee: $99

    Reinstatement Fee for lapsed license: $225

    *The information above was provided by the Board of Nursing in March 2019; information is subject to change

    Board of Nursing Contact Info:
    400 SW 8th st.
    suite B
    Des Moines, IA 50309
    515-281-4827
    https://nursing.iowa.gov/licensure

    Kansas

    Is Kansas a walk-through state? No

    How long does it take to get a temporary license? 1-2 weeks

    How long is a temp license good for? 180 days or until the Perm license has been issued.

    How much does a temp license cost? No additional fees

    How long does it take to get a permanent license? 3-4 weeks

    How much does a perm license cost? $275

    Application Process: Online

    Is Kansas a NURSYS state? Yes

    Is Kansas a compact state? NO

    Renewal Cycle: RN License renewal is due by the end of RN's birth month on even numbered birth year.

    Renewal Fee: $55

    Reinstatement Fee for lapsed license: $70 + 30 hours of continual education

    *The information above was provided by the Board of Nursing in March 2019; information is subject to change

    Board of Nursing Contact Info:
    900 SW Jackson St.
    suite 1051
    Topeka, KS 66612
    785-296-4929
    https://ksbn.kansas.gov

    Kentucky

    Is Kentucky a walk-through state? No

    How long does it take to get a temporary license? 1-2 weeks

    How long is a temp license good for? 6 mo. maximum

    How much does a temp license cost? Fees included with cost of permanent license.

    How long does it take to get a permanent license? 2-3 weeks

    How much does a perm license cost? $125

    Application Process: Online, Paper application can be requested for additional fee.

    Is Kentucky a NURSYS state? Yes

    Is Kentucky a compact state? Yes

    Renewal Cycle: Yearly renewal done between Sept 15th to Oct 31 yearly.

    Renewal Fee: $65

    Reinstatement Fee for lapsed license: $125 + Application process must be re-done.

    *The information above was provided by the Board of Nursing in March 2019; information is subject to change

    Board of Nursing Contact Info:
    312 Whittington Parkway #300
    Louisville, Ky 40222
    1-800-305-2042
    https://kbn.ky.gov

    Louisiana

    Is Louisiana a walk-through state? Yes

    How long does it take to get a temporary license? 1 Day

    How long is a temp license good for? 90 Days

    How much does a temp license cost? $193.00

    How long does it take to get a permanent license? 4-6 weeks

    How much does a perm license cost? $139.25

    Application Process: ALL online

    Is Louisiana a NURSYS state? Yes

    Is Louisiana a compact state? No

    Renewal Cycle: Initial license is good for one year, Renewals thereafter are for 2 years. Renewal season runs from October 1 to Jan 31st.

    Renewal Fee: 100

    Reinstatement Fee for lapsed license: Full Reinstatement and application is required + $50 late fee for each renewed license.

    *The information above was provided by the Board of Nursing in March 2019; information is subject to change

    Board of Nursing Contact Info:
    17373 Perkins Road
    Baton Rouge, LA 70810
    225-755-7500
    http://www.lsbn.state.la.us

    Maine

    Is Maine a walk-through state? No

    How long does it take to get a temporary license? No Temp license issued

    How long is a temp license good for? NA

    How much does a temp license cost? NA

    How long does it take to get a permanent license? 2-3 weeks

    How much does a perm license cost? $75

    Application Process: Online or Mail paper application

    Is Maine a NURSYS state? Yes

    Is Maine a compact state? Yes

    Renewal Cycle: License is renewed on Birthdate every 2 years.

    Renewal Fee: $75

    Lapsed License: Process varies by scenario and individual circumstances.

    Reinstatement Fee for lapsed license: $85

    *The information above was provided by the Board of Nursing in March 2019; information is subject to change

    Board of Nursing Contact Info:
    207-287-1133
    161 Capitol St.
    158 State House Station
    August, Me 04333
    https://www.maine.gov/boardofnursing/

    Maryland

    Is Maryland a walk-through state? No

    How long does it take to get a temporary license? 1 week

    How long is a temp license good for? 90 days

    How much does a temp license cost? $40

    How long does it take to get a permanent license? 6-8 weeks

    How much does a perm license cost? $100

    Application Process: Online or Mail paper application

    Is Maryland a NURSYS state? Yes

    Is Maryland a compact state? NO

    Renewal Cycle: Renewal is required by birthdate every 2 years.

    Renewal Fee: $50

    Lapsed License: If license expires application process must be re-started and done through mail. NO ONLINE reinstatement

    Reinstatement Fee for lapsed license: $50

    *The information above was provided by the Board of Nursing in March 2019; information is subject to change

    Board of Nursing Contact Info:
    4140 Patterson Ave
    Baltimore, MD 21215
    888-202-9861
    https://mbon.maryland.gov

    Massachusetts

    Is Massachusetts a walk-through state? No

    How long does it take to get a temporary license? NA

    How long is a temp license good for? NA

    How much does a temp license cost? NA

    How long does it take to get a permanent license? 5-6 weeks

    How much does a perm license cost? $235

    Application Process: Online or Mail paper application

    Is Massachusetts a NURSYS state? Yes

    Is Massachusetts a compact state? No

    Renewal Cycle: RN licenses expire at 11:59 on your Birthdate in even numbered Years.

    Renewal Fee: $120

    Reinstatement Fee for lapsed license: Additional $57 + Standard Renewal Fee.

    *The information above was provided by the Board of Nursing in March 2019; information is subject to change

    Board of Nursing Contact Info:
    239 Causeway St. suite 500
    5th floor
    Boston, MA. 02114
    617-973-0900
    www.mass.gov/orgs/board-of-registration-in-nursing

    Michigan

    Is Michigan a walk-through state? No

    How long does it take to get a temporary license? A Temp license is only available to Canadian Residents.

    How long is a temp license good for? NA

    How much does a temp license cost? NA

    How long does it take to get a permanent license? 4-6 Weeks

    How much does a perm license cost? $141

    Application Process: ONLINE

    Is Michigan a NURSYS state? No

    Is Michigan a compact state? No

    Renewal Cycle: When license is originally issued it is good for only 1 year. Renewal thereafter is due every 2 years on original issue date.

    Renewal Fee: $126

    Reinstatement Fee for lapsed license: Must begin license process over.

    *The information above was provided by the Board of Nursing in March 2019; information is subject to change

    Board of Nursing Contact Info:
    Ottawa Towers North
    611 W. Ottawa
    1st floor,
    Lansing, MI 48933
    517-339-9700
    www.michigan.gov

    Minnesota

    Is Minnesota a walk-through state? No

    How long does it take to get a temporary license? Usually 1 week after submission of application

    How long is a temp license good for? 60 days

    How much does a temp license cost? Cost is included in Perm license and application fee.

    How long does it take to get a permanent license? Varies, average 3-4 weeks

    How much does a perm license cost? $138.25

    Application Process: Online or by special request you can have an application mailed to you - Finger prints must be taken in MN.

    Is Minnesota a NURSYS state? Yes

    Is Minnesota a compact state? No

    Renewal Cycle: When license is originally issued it is good for only 1 year or less based on the month and year of Birth. Renewal thereafter is due every 2 years on date of Expiration.

    Renewal Fee: $85

    Reinstatement Fee for lapsed license: $105

    *The information above was provided by the Board of Nursing in March 2019; information is subject to change

    Board of Nursing Contact Info:
    2829 University Ave. SE #200
    Minneapolis, MN. 55414
    612-317-3000
    888-234-2690
    https://mn.gov/boards/nursing/licensure/

    Mississippi

    Is Mississippi a walk-through state? No

    How long does it take to get a temporary license?NA

    How long is a temp license good for?NA

    How much does a temp license cost? NA

    How long does it take to get a permanent license? 1 to 2 weeks.

    How much does a perm license cost? $100

    Application Process: Online

    Is Mississippi a NURSYS state? Yes

    Is Mississippi a compact state? Yes

    Renewal Cycle: The license renewal period is for two years on Even numbered years.

    Renewal Fee: $100

    Lapsed License: Application, Background and fingerprints will have to be completed.

    Reinstatement Fee for lapsed license: If one month past due fee is $50, any time over one month fees go up to $150. RN will be responsible for fees associated with Reinstatement application process.

    *The information above was provided by the Board of Nursing in March 2019; information is subject to change

    Board of Nursing Contact Info:
    713 S Pear Orchard Rd. #300
    Ridgeland, MS 39157
    601-957-6300
    https://www.msbn.ms.gov/

    Missouri

    Is Missouri a walk-through state? Yes

    How long does it take to get a temporary license? Same Day

    How long is a temp license good for? 30 Days

    How much does a temp license cost? Fees included in perm license

    How long does it take to get a permanent license? Same Day - 2 weeks.

    How much does a perm license cost? $55

    Application Process: Online or mail in paper application

    Is Missouri a NURSYS state? Yes

    Is Missouri a compact state? Yes

    Renewal Cycle: Renewal is done every 2 years. RN licenses expire on April 30 of odd years.

    Renewal Fee: 60

    Lapsed License: 50

    Reinstatement Fee for lapsed license: Renewal fee + lapsed license fee - Renewal Rn petition and finger prints required.

    *The information above was provided by the Board of Nursing in March 2019; information is subject to change

    Board of Nursing Contact Info:
    3605 Missouri Blvd
    Jefferson City, Mo, 65109
    573-751-068
    https://www.pr.mo.gov/nursing.asp

    Montana

    Is Montana a walk-through state? No

    How long does it take to get a temporary license? Usually within 1 week

    How long is a temp license good for? 90 days

    How much does a temp license cost? Fees included in cost of Perm License $125.

    How long does it take to get a permanent license? 4-6 weeks

    How much does a perm license cost? $125

    Application Process: Online or Mail paper application

    Is Montana a NURSYS state? Yes

    Is Montana a compact state? Yes

    Renewal Cycle: All RN licenses expire on December 31 of even - numbered years - ALL Rn's must maintain proof of 24 continuing education credits per 2 year licensing period.

    Renewal Fee: $100

    Lapsed License: A license is lapsed after 2 years.

    Reinstatement Fee for lapsed license: Renewal fee and re-begin application process.

    *The information above was provided by the Board of Nursing in March 2019; information is subject to change

    Board of Nursing Contact Info:
    301 South Park
    4th Floor
    Helena, Mt. 59620
    406-444-5711
    http://boards.bsd.dli.mt.gov/nur

    Nebraska

    Is Nebraska a walk-through state? No

    How long does it take to get a temporary license? NA

    How long is a temp license good for? NA

    How much does a temp license cost? NA

    How long does it take to get a permanent license? 4 to 5 weeks

    How much does a perm license cost? $123

    Application Process: Online or Mail paper application

    Is Nebraska a NURSYS state? Yes

    Is Nebraska a compact state? Yes

    Renewal Cycle: RN license expires on October 31 of even numbered years.

    Renewal Fee: $123

    Reinstatement Fee for lapsed license: $123 - Circumstantial depending on time period license was lapsed.

    *The information above was provided by the Board of Nursing in March 2019; information is subject to change

    Board of Nursing Contact Info:
    301 Centennial Mall
    South Lincoln, Ne 68509
    402-471-3121
    https://www.registerednursern.com/nebraska-board-of-nursing-board-of-nursing-nebraska-ne-information-registered-nurse-rn/

    Nevada

    Is Nevada a walk-through state? No

    How long does it take to get a temporary license? 1-3 weeks

    How long is a temp license good for? 6 mo.

    How much does a temp license cost? Fees included with Permanent license.

    How long does it take to get a permanent license? 2-4 months

    How much does a perm license cost? $105

    Application Process: Online only

    Is Nevada a NURSYS state? Yes

    Is Nevada a compact state? Yes

    Renewal Cycle: RN license is good for 2 years and expires on date of birth.

    Renewal Fee: $100

    Lapsed License: Nevada has no grace period and may also require a refresher application depending on circumstances with additional $50.

    Reinstatement Fee for lapsed license: Renewal Fee + late fee $100

    *The information above was provided by the Board of Nursing in March 2019; information is subject to change

    Board of Nursing Contact Info:
    4220 S. Maryland Pkwy.
    Building B, suite 300
    Las Vegas, NV. 89119

    5011 Meadowood Mall Way
    Suite 300
    Reno, NV 89502
    888-590-6726
    https://nevadanursingboard.org/

    New Hampshire

    Is New Hampshire a walk-through state? NO

    How long does it take to get a temporary license? Only for VT, MA, and CT.

    How long is a temp license good for? 90 Days

    How much does a temp license cost? $120 for Permanent + $20

    How long does it take to get a permanent license? 1 week or less

    How much does a perm license cost? $120

    Application Process: Online

    Is New Hampshire a NURSYS state? Yes

    Is New Hampshire a compact state? Yes

    Renewal Cycle: License expires on Birthdate and licenses are good for 2 years.

    Renewal Fee: $80 prior to expiration date, $120 after expiration date

    Reinstatement Fee for lapsed license: NH requires all paperwork, education and fees to be paid before reinstatement.

    *The information above was provided by the Board of Nursing in March 2019; information is subject to change

    Board of Nursing Contact Info:
    121 S Fruit St.
    Concord, NH. 03301
    603-271-6788
    https://www.oplc.nh.gov

    New Jersey

    Is New Jersey a walk-through state? No

    How long does it take to get a temporary license? NA

    How long is a temp license good for? NA

    How much does a temp license cost? NA

    How long does it take to get a permanent license? 4-6 weeks

    How much does a perm license cost? 200

    Application Process: Online

    Is New Jersey a NURSYS state? No

    Is New Jersey a compact state? No

    Renewal Cycle: Biennial

    Renewal Fee: $160

    Lapsed License: License shall be suspended for 30 days following the expiration date.

    Reinstatement Fee for lapsed license: $160 Renewal fee for biennial renewal period for which Reinstatement is sought + $100 Reinstatement fee.

    *The information above was provided by the Board of Nursing in March 2019; information is subject to change

    Board of Nursing Contact Info:
    124 Halsey St.
    Newark, NJ 07102
    973-504-6430
    https://www.njconsumeraffairs.gov

    New Mexico

    Is New Mexico a walk-through state? No

    How long does it take to get a temporary license? Usually issued within 1 week.

    How long is a temp license good for? 3 months

    How much does a temp license cost? $60

    How long does it take to get a permanent license? 3-4 weeks

    How much does a perm license cost? $150

    Application Process: Online only

    Is New Mexico a NURSYS state? Yes

    Is New Mexico a compact state? Yes

    Renewal Cycle: RN license renewal is every two years and must be completed by the end of the RN birth month.

    Renewal Fee: $110

    Lapsed License: If your license has lapsed you will need to submit the expired/Lapsed Attestation within 5 days of submitting renewal application.

    Reinstatement Fee for lapsed license: $200

    *The information above was provided by the Board of Nursing in March 2019; information is subject to change

    Board of Nursing Contact Info:
    6301 Indian School Rd. NE #710
    Albuquerque, NM 87110
    505-841-8340
    https://nmbon.sks.com

    New York

    Is New York a walk-through state? No

    How long does it take to get a temporary license? NA

    How long is a temp license good for? NA

    How much does a temp license cost? NA

    How long does it take to get a permanent license? 6-8 Weeks

    How much does a perm license cost? $143

    Application Process: Online

    Is New York a NURSYS state? No

    Is New York a compact state? No

    Renewal Cycle: NY License is valid for life. The registration certificate must be renewed every 3 years with expiration on birthdate.

    Renewal Fee: $73

    Reinstatement Fee for lapsed license: All Education, and state license requirements must be current before reinstatement can be issued.

    *The information above was provided by the Board of Nursing in March 2019; information is subject to change

    Board of Nursing Contact Info:
    89 Washington Ave.
    Albany, NY, 12234
    518-474-3817
    http://www.op.nysed.gov/prof/nurse/

    North Carolina

    Is North Carolina a walk-through state? No

    How long does it take to get a temporary license? 2-4 weeks

    How long is a temp license good for? 6 Months or until Permanent license is issued.

    How much does a temp license cost? Cost is included in fees for permanent license.

    How long does it take to get a permanent license? 6-8 weeks

    How much does a perm license cost? $150

    Application Process: Online

    Is North Carolina a NURSYS state? Yes

    Is North Carolina a compact state? Yes

    Renewal Cycle: Licenses are valid for 2 years. You are required to renew your license by the last day of your birth month.

    Renewal Fee: $100

    Lapsed License: A license is placed in Lapsed status at midnight on the last day of the expiration month.

    Reinstatement Fee for lapsed license: $100 - Inactive Status or $180 - Expired Status

    *The information above was provided by the Board of Nursing in March 2019; information is subject to change

    Board of Nursing Contact Info:
    4516 Lake Boone Trail
    Raleigh, NC. 27607
    919-782-3211
    https://www.ncbon.com

    North Dakota

    Is North Dakota a walk-through state? No

    How long does it take to get a temporary license? 1-2 days. Based on circumstances and completion of required documents.

    How long is a temp license good for? 90 days

    How much does a temp license cost? Fees are included with cost of Perm license.

    How long does it take to get a permanent license? 1-2 weeks

    How much does a perm license cost? $130

    Application Process: Online

    Is North Dakota a NURSYS state? Yes

    Is North Dakota a compact state? Yes

    Renewal Cycle: License is good for 2 years based on licensure date of issue.

    Renewal Fee: $120

    Lapsed License: RN Must have all continued education requirements fulfilled as well as all applications current with ND.

    Reinstatement Fee for lapsed license: $240

    *The information above was provided by the Board of Nursing in March 2019; information is subject to change

    Board of Nursing Contact Info:
    919 S 7th St. #504
    Bismarck, ND 58504
    701-328-9777
    https://www.ndbon.org/

    Ohio

    Is Ohio a walk-through state? No

    How long does it take to get a temporary license? Temp license only issued if all other requirements are fulfilled but background.

    How long is a temp license good for? 6 months or until perm license is issued

    How much does a temp license cost? Fees are included with Perm license cost.

    How long does it take to get a permanent license? 4-5 weeks

    How much does a perm license cost? $75

    Application Process: Online

    Is Ohio a NURSYS state? No

    Is Ohio a compact state? No

    Renewal Cycle: RN license is up for renewal every 2 years on odd numbered years.

    Renewal Fee: $65 + $50 late fee.

    Lapsed License: RN must pay all fees and have all Ohio paperwork and continued education current.

    Reinstatement Fee for lapsed license: $65 renewal fee + $50 late fee

    *The information above was provided by the Board of Nursing in March 2019; information is subject to change

    Board of Nursing Contact Info:
    17 S. Hight St. #660
    Columbus, OH 43215
    614-466-3947
    https://www.ndbon.org/

    Oklahoma

    Is Oklahoma a walk-through state? No

    How long does it take to get a temporary license? 2-3 days

    How long is a temp license good for? 90 Days

    How much does a temp license cost? Cost of Permanent license + $40

    How long does it take to get a permanent license? 4-5 weeks.

    How much does a perm license cost? $85

    Application Process: Online

    Is Oklahoma a NURSYS state? Yes

    Is Oklahoma a compact state? Yes

    Renewal Cycle: The RN Licensure expires every 2 Years on even numbered years.

    Renewal Fee: $75

    Lapsed License: All fees, education and Reinstatement paperwork must be completed and current. Based on Individual circumstances.

    Reinstatement Fee for lapsed license: $115

    *The information above was provided by the Board of Nursing in March 2019; information is subject to change

    Board of Nursing Contact Info:
    2915 n Classen Blvd
    Suite 524
    Oklahoma City, OK 73106
    405-962-1800
    https://nursing.ok.gov/

    Oregon

    Is Oregon a walk-through state? No

    How long does it take to get a temporary license? NA

    How long is a temp license good for? NA

    How much does a temp license cost? NA

    How long does it take to get a permanent license? 5-8 weeks

    How much does a perm license cost? $195

    Application Process: Online

    Is Oregon a NURSYS state? No

    Is Oregon a compact state? No

    Renewal Cycle: License is good for 2 years and is up for renewal based on if you were born on an odd year or an even year.

    Renewal Fee: $158 After a license has been expired up to 60 days an additional $100 is added. License is lapsed after 60 days.

    Lapsed License: To re-apply the RN Must meet the RN practice requirements/Continuing education, fingerprints and all paper work must be current as well as reinstatement fee paid.

    Reinstatement Fee for lapsed license: $264 based on circumstances, more fees may apply.

    *The information above was provided by the Board of Nursing in March 2019; information is subject to change

    Board of Nursing Contact Info:
    971-673-0685

    https://www.oregon.gov/OSBN
    Pennsylvania

    Is Pennsylvania a walk-through state? No

    How long does it take to get a temporary license? 2 weeks

    How long is a temp license good for? 1 year

    How much does a temp license cost? Cost of Permanent license + $35

    How long does it take to get a permanent license? 4-6 weeks

    How much does a perm license cost? $100

    Application Process: Online or Mail paper application

    Is Pennsylvania a NURSYS state? Yes

    Is Pennsylvania a compact state? No

    Renewal Cycle: RN licensure is Renewed Every 2 years based on date issued.

    Renewal Fee: $65

    Reinstatement Fee for lapsed license: Fees and process are based on circumstances of individual. Board asks you to call and inquire on an individual basis.

    *The information above was provided by the Board of Nursing in March 2019; information is subject to change

    Board of Nursing Contact Info:
    2601 N 3rd St.
    Harrisburg, PA. 17110
    717-783-7142
    https://www.dos.pa.gov

    Rhode Island

    Is Rhode Island a walk-through state? No

    How long does it take to get a temporary license? NA

    How long is a temp license good for? NA

    How much does a temp license cost? NA

    How long does it take to get a permanent license? 4 weeks

    How much does a perm license cost? $135

    Application Process: Online

    Is Rhode Island a NURSYS state? Yes

    Is Rhode Island a compact state? No

    Renewal Cycle: RN is required to renew license every 2 years. Mandatory continuing education is required/renewal period.

    Renewal Fee: $135

    Reinstatement Fee for lapsed license: All renewal requirements must be fulfilled.

    *The information above was provided by the Board of Nursing in March 2019; information is subject to change

    Board of Nursing Contact Info:
    105 Cannon Building
    Three Capitol Hill
    Providence, RI 02908
    401-222-5960
    http://health.ri.gov/

    South Carolina

    Is South Carolina a walk-through state? Yes

    How long does it take to get a temporary license? 1 day if all paperwork is completed and correct.

    How long is a temp license good for? 60 days

    How much does a temp license cost? $10 additional to perm cost

    How long does it take to get a permanent license? 2-3 weeks

    How much does a perm license cost? $100

    Application Process: Online or Mail paper application

    Is South Carolina a NURSYS state? Yes

    Is South Carolina a compact state? Yes

    Renewal Cycle: Every even 2 years based on date of issue.

    Renewal Fee: $75

    Lapsed License: New Criminal background check and Fingerprints may be required based on individual RN circumstances.

    Reinstatement Fee for lapsed license: Renewal fee + $60

    *The information above was provided by the Board of Nursing in March 2019; information is subject to change

    Board of Nursing Contact Info:
    110 Centerview Dr.
    Columbia, SC 29210
    803-896-4550
    https://www.llr.sc.gov/pol/nursing/

    South Dakota

    Is South Dakota a walk-through state? No

    How long does it take to get a temporary license? 1-2 days

    How long is a temp license good for? 90 days

    How much does a temp license cost? $25 additional to perm cost

    How long does it take to get a permanent license? 3-5 weeks

    How much does a perm license cost? $100

    Application Process: Online only

    Is South Dakota a NURSYS state? Yes

    Is South Dakota a compact state? Yes

    Renewal Cycle: RN licenses expire on Birthdate every 2 years.

    Renewal Fee: $115

    Lapsed License: $50

    *The information above was provided by the Board of Nursing in March 2019; information is subject to change

    Board of Nursing Contact Info:
    605-362-2760
    https://doh.sd.gov/boards/nursing/

    Tennessee

    Is Tennessee a walk-through state? No

    How long does it take to get a temporary license? No

    How long is a temp license good for? No

    How much does a temp license cost? No

    How long does it take to get a permanent license? 4-6 weeks

    How much does a perm license cost? $115

    Application Process: Online or Mail paper application

    Is Tennessee a NURSYS state? Yes

    Is Tennessee a compact state? Yes

    Renewal Cycle: RN license is renewed every 2 years. Birth month and year even or odd.

    Renewal Fee: $100

    Lapsed License: Based on individual circumstances additional fees may be added.

    Reinstatement Fee for lapsed license: $200

    *The information above was provided by the Board of Nursing in March 2019; information is subject to change

    Board of Nursing Contact Info:
    665 Mainstream Dr.
    2nd Floor
    Nashville, TN. 37243
    615-532-5166
    www.tn.gov

    Texas

    Is Texas a walk-through state? No

    How long does it take to get a temporary license? Up to 2 weeks

    How long is a temp license good for? 120 Days

    How much does a temp license cost? Cost included in fees for perm license

    How long does it take to get a permanent license? 4 to 6 weeks

    How much does a perm license cost? $186

    Application Process: Online or Mail paper application

    Is Texas a NURSYS state? Yes

    Is Texas a compact state? Yes

    Renewal Cycle: After first year of activation is completed, RN licensure renewal is every 2 years based on birth year being odd or even number.

    Renewal Fee: $65

    Reinstatement Fee for lapsed license: $75

    *The information above was provided by the Board of Nursing in March 2019; information is subject to change

    Board of Nursing Contact Info:
    333 Guadalupe St. #3-460
    Austin, TX 78701
    512-305-7400
    www.bon.texas.gov

    Utah

    Is Utah a walk-through state? No

    How long does it take to get a temporary license? NA

    How long is a temp license good for? NA

    How much does a temp license cost? NA

    How long does it take to get a permanent license? 1-2 weeks

    How much does a perm license cost? $95

    Application Process: Online or Mail paper application

    Is Utah a NURSYS state? Yes

    Is Utah a compact state? No

    Renewal Cycle: RN licenses expire on Jan 31 of odd years.

    Renewal Fee: $58

    Lapsed License: $108

    Reinstatement Fee for lapsed license: Reinstatement fee for being late 30 days or less is an additional $20. Reinstatement fee for between 31 days and 2 years is an additional $50. If license is lapsed for longer than 2 years contact the Utah BON for instructions.

    *The information above was provided by the Board of Nursing in March 2019; information is subject to change

    Board of Nursing Contact Info:
    Herber M. Wells Building
    4th floor
    160 east 300 South
    Salt lake City, UT 84111
    801-530-6628
    https://dopl.utah.gov/nurse/index.html

    Vermont

    Is Vermont a walk-through state? No

    How long does it take to get a temporary license? NA

    How long is a temp license good for? NA

    How much does a temp license cost? NA

    How long does it take to get a permanent license? 1-2 weeks

    How much does a perm license cost? $150

    Application Process: Online

    Is Vermont a NURSYS state? yes

    Is Vermont a compact state? No

    Renewal Cycle: RN licenses expire on March 31 on odd numbered years.

    Renewal Fee: $140

    Lapsed License: A license is lapsed if it is not immediately renewed. Individual circumstances are taken into consideration for a lapsed RN license. Contact the VT BON.

    *The information above was provided by the Board of Nursing in March 2019; information is subject to change

    Board of Nursing Contact Info:
    89 Main St.
    3rd Floor
    Montpelier, VT 05620
    802-828-2396
    https://www.sec.state.vt.us

    Virginia

    Is Virginia a walk-through state? No

    How long does it take to get a temporary license? NA

    How long is a temp license good for? NA

    How much does a temp license cost? NA

    How long does it take to get a permanent license? 4-6 weeks

    How much does a perm license cost? $190

    Application Process: Online or mail paper application

    Is Virginia a NURSYS state? Yes

    Is Virginia a compact state? Yes

    Renewal Cycle: RN's must renew their license every 2 years based on being born in even or odd year. License must be renewed by last day of Birthday month.

    Renewal Fee: $140

    Lapsed License: If license is expired for less than 2 years, RN only needs to pay fee and submit Reinstatement application. If license has lapsed for more than 1 renewal period, RN must follow different reinstatement path and contact VABON.

    Reinstatement Fee for lapsed license: $225 + Reinstatement application

    *The information above was provided by the Board of Nursing in March 2019; information is subject to change

    Board of Nursing Contact Info:
    9960 Mayland Dr. #300
    Ridge, VA. 23233
    804-367-4515
    https://www.virginia.gov

    Washington

    Is Washington a walk-through state? No

    How long does it take to get a temporary license? 1-2 days if all paperwork is completed.

    How long is a temp license good for? 90 days

    How much does a temp license cost? Fee included in perm license.

    How long does it take to get a permanent license? 6 weeks

    How much does a perm license cost? $120

    Application Process: Mail Paper Application ONLY

    Is Washington a NURSYS state? Yes

    Is Washington a compact state? No

    Renewal Cycle: RN renews on birthday every year. Every 3 years RN must prove 531 active practice hours and 45 of continuing education.

    Renewal Fee: $120 + $2.50 for online renewal fee

    Lapsed License: Must comply with reinstatement process set by Washington BON/ This is based on individual circumstances.

    *The information above was provided by the Board of Nursing in March 2019; information is subject to change

    Board of Nursing Contact Info:
    111 Israel Rd. SE
    Tumwater, WA. 98501
    360-236-4703
    https://www.doh.wa.gov/

    West Virginia

    Is West Virginia a walk-through state? No

    How long does it take to get a temporary license? 3-4 days

    How long is a temp license good for? 90 days

    How much does a temp license cost? $25

    How long does it take to get a permanent license? 2-3 weeks

    How much does a perm license cost? $100

    Application Process: Online

    Is West Virginia a NURSYS state? Yes

    Is West Virginia a compact state? Yes

    Renewal Cycle: All RN licenses expire October 31 of each individual year

    Renewal Fee: $67

    Lapsed License: Must fill out an RN license Reinstatement form

    Reinstatement Fee for lapsed license: $115

    *The information above was provided by the Board of Nursing in March 2019; information is subject to change

    Board of Nursing Contact Info:
    90 MacCorkle Ave SW #203
    South Charleston, WV 25303
    304-744-0900
    http://www.lpnboard.state.wv.us/

    Wisconsin

    Is Wisconsin a walk-through state? No

    How long does it take to get a temporary license? 15-20 days

    How long is a temp license good for? 90 days

    How much does a temp license cost? $10

    How long does it take to get a permanent license? 2-3 weeks

    How much does a perm license cost? $90

    Application Process: Online or Mail paper application

    Is Wisconsin a NURSYS state? Yes

    Is Wisconsin a compact state? Yes

    Renewal Cycle: RN licenses must be renewed by 2/28 of even nubmered years.

    Renewal Fee: $86

    Lapsed License: $86 Renewal fee + Late fee $25. RN must pay all additional fees required and complete the workforce survey to the satisfaction of the board.

    Reinstatement Fee for lapsed license: $111

    *The information above was provided by the Board of Nursing in March 2019; information is subject to change

    Board of Nursing Contact Info:
    1400 E. Washington Ave.
    Madison, WI 53703
    608-266-2112
    https://dsps.wi.gov

    Wyoming

    Is Wyoming a walk-through state? No

    How long does it take to get a temporary license? 10-15 days

    How long is a temp license good for? 120 days

    How much does a temp license cost? $25

    How long does it take to get a permanent license? 45-60 days

    How much does a perm license cost? $135

    Application Process: Online

    Is Wyoming a NURSYS state? Yes

    Is Wyoming a compact state? Yes

    Renewal Cycle: RN's renewal time Ends on Dec 31st of even numbered years.

    Renewal Fee: $110

    Lapsed License: License is lapsed if renewal is missed. RN must start full application process over with new fingerprints and background check.

    Reinstatement Fee for lapsed license: $135 + all other fees required by BON

    *The information above was provided by the Board of Nursing in March 2019; information is subject to change

    Board of Nursing Contact Info:
    130 Hobbs Ave. B
    Cheyenne, WY 82002
    307-777-7601
    https://nursing-online.state.wy.us

    X
    操逼网站